The Guide to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Draw

The 2018 FIFA World Cup draw will take place on Friday and in this article we will go through the World Cup draw guide.



The Kremlin Palace in Moscow will host the draw for the 21st quadrennial tournament that will kick off on the 14th of June next year.


How are teams seeded?

All 32 qualified teams are seeded in 4 different pots each pot consisting of 8 nations. Unlike on the past occasions, FIFA has this year changed the format in which the teams are seeded.

Before, top seeded teams in pot 1 were seeded according to their FIFA rankings and the rest of the pots were seeded according to their geographical locations and that has seen a change.

This time around all pots are seeded according to FIFA rankings for October. Top 7 ranked teams accompanied by the host nation Russia will be in pot 1 and the lowest ranked teams will be in pot 4.



8 groups are assembled in alphabetical order (i.e. Group A-H) and a group is made out of 4 teams from each pot.

Teams from pot 1 will occupy the top spots in each of the 8 groups,with Russia as the hosts occupying group A while the rest of the teams in other pots are randomly selected and their group position is not pre-determined in order to avoid teams from the same geographical area to end in the same group, for example a team from pot 2 can skip and miss the second spot and end in third spot in the other group this happens if their continental counterpart from another pot has already been drawn in the same group.

Teams from the same continent can not be drawn in the same group.Europe however is an exception since 14 teams from Europe qualified for next year’s football extravaganza,a maximum of 2 European teams can feature in one group


Team seedings

POT 1 :- Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France
POT 2 :- Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia
POT 3 :- Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran
POT 4 :- Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, South Korea, Saudi Arabia


Written by Bonno Macheng

Like O-Posts on Facebook

You can also follow O-Posts on Twitter @OPosts